There is a license error on this site:
License has expired
The Web site remains functional, but this message will be displayed until the license error has been corrected.

To correct this error:If you do not have a license file, please request one from EPiServer License Center.
2002 Clinical Scientist Development Award Skip to main content

Return to Previous Page

2002 Clinical Scientist Development Award

Awarded: Aug 12, 2002

Up to $5.455 million over 5 years

In 2002, 10 young physician-scientists received awards as follows: 6 at the junior faculty level each received grants of $100,000 per year for up to 5 years, and 4 at the fellow level each received five-year grants of $65,000 per year for up to 2 years, after which they are expected to transition to faculty-level awards of $100,000 per year for 3 years. 


2002 CSDA Grantees

Matthew L. Albert, M.D., Ph.D.
The Rockefeller University
(currently at Institut Pasteur, France)
Project: "Tumor Immunity Versus Tumor Mediated Immunosuppression"

Dan H. Barouch, M.D., Ph.D.
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Project: "Prophylactic and Therapeutic DNA Vaccines for HIV"

Johann S. de Bono, M.D., Ph.D.
CTRC Institute for Drug Development
Project: "Combined EGFR and HER2 Blockade for Advanced Breast Cancer"

Seema R. Lalani, M.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
Project: "Genetic Etiology of CHARGE Syndrome"

Linda M. McAllister-Lucas, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Michigan
Project: "Aberrant NF-kB Activation in MALT Lymphoma Pathogenesis"

Julie M. Miller, M.D.
Johns Hopkins University
Project: "Identification and Significance of Microvascular Flow in Post-Ischemic Myocardial Injury"

Avrum E. Spira, M.D.
Boston University School of Medicine
Project: "Tobacco, Cancer and Epithelial Gene Expression"

Kevin G. Volpp, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania
Project: "Financial Stress and Hospital Quality of Care"

Lisa L. Wang, M.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
Project: "The Molecular Basis of Rothmund-Thomson Syndrome"

Catherine J. Wu, M.D.
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Project: "Non-ablative Transplantation for Hemoglobinopathies"